ICID Members

Any geographical area independently administered by a sovereign government and interested to participate in the Commission’s activities to work together towards a water-efficient management system is eligible to become a National Committee (NC). The Commission advocates for the National Committees to be broad-based multi-disciplinary and should provide a platform for further collaborations with different sectors and relevant institutions with the parallel aim of a water-secure world. 

The membership of the Commission consists of governments, professionals, planners,  policymakers, water managers, irrigation and agriculture engineers, research scientists and educationists; engaged in irrigation, drainage, flood control, agricultural water management and related areas within the countries through their National Committees (NC) traditionally organized under the respective government departments responsible for irrigation and agricultural water management.

Presently, ICID country membership network is spread over 78 countries across Africa, Americas, Asia and Oceania, and Europe, covering over 95% of the irrigated area of the world.